Community Building and Critical Thinking through Farming.

Robin Low
3 min readMar 5, 2021

You can learn a lot from farming and farming can allow you to apply some of these principles you learn in your life and career.

Sadly, in today’s society, many people are too lazy to think. They would not try to reason and ask questions like, “I forgot to water my plant for a week, it is brown now, how do I save it? “ or “How do I grow the plant from seeds? Do I put the seeds in the soil?”

Google is a good place to search for answers. There are a lot of people sharing tips and information about their experience, but take it with a grain of salt as many of these experiences do not apply to your situation.

I’ve written a book, Zen of Urban Farming, and yes, I do learn a lot from urban farming. I am good at time management, prioritizing my schedules. I learn not to be lazy and procrastinate. To grow plants well, it does take effort and a good understanding of the conditions of your garden.

I feel that you can learn how to approach farming, but as most conditions differ, someone’s experience in their garden may not apply to your situation. They may have more direct sunlight, fertile soil, and good air-flow. Following their instructions may not work in your situation.

Urban farming builds character. I’ve tried to get my niece, nephew to help with…

--

--

Robin Low

Author, Traveler, Innovator. Focuses on Social Impact and Innovation.